Along the Thames (memories)

My journey along the Thames dates back from 2009, so I was like 15 or something. I spent three weeks in England, going from Canterbury, all the way to the Cotswolds. We sort of followed the Thames, walking pieces of the Thames Path along the way.

The Thames Path is one of the national trails you can follow in the UK. The river Thames is 184 miles long and takes you from the Cotswolds all the way to London  or the other way around. It will take you at least 14 days to complete, but if you want to make some stops on the way, you’ll have to add a couple of days. For more information: Thames Path

⋅⋅⋅Canterbury⋅⋅⋅

Canterbury isn’t located along the Thames, but it was a simple stopover before heading to Windsor. I don’t recall that much of this city, only that it has a wonderful cathedral! I also spent a day in Margate, enjoying the beautiful weather and sea.

x.jpg

⋅⋅⋅Windsor⋅⋅⋅

I do recall Windsor, its castle, which is the city’s main highlight, is very impressive! This camping site is next to the Thames and about 14 miles from Windsor: Hurley Riverside Park.

x.jpg

 

⋅⋅⋅Oxford⋅⋅⋅

Oxford must be a dream location for a college student! I took a tour there, which guided me through the various streets and colleges. The theme was movie scenes, and personal highlight for 15 year old me (and honestly it would still be a highlight now) was seeing various filming locations from Harry Potter! If you’re looking for good British food go to the Turf Tavern, its a bit hidden from the public, super cosy. I even remember more or less where it is located.

x.jpg

Oxford is really an enchanting place, if I get the chance, I will definitely go back here. I stayed at a camping in the city, the center is easily reachable by bus from here: Oxford Campsite. It’s not ideal to go camping in the city, I don’t really like it, but it’s so much easier to go and explore the city if you’re located in it.

⋅⋅⋅Blenheim Palace⋅⋅⋅

Not to far from Oxford you’ll find Blenheim Palace. I believe Winston Churchill used to live here. The palace itself is beautiful and surrounding park even more!

x

⋅⋅⋅The cotswolds⋅⋅⋅

The Cotswolds are super cute! I don’t remember much of it but if I look at the pictures it somehow reminds me of a movie.

x

Other UK posts:

Exmoor NP

Travelling by ferry from Calais to Dover

Roman traces in Brittania: Bath

London’s Best Weekend Markets

London in one day

London on a budget

One thought on “Along the Thames (memories)

Leave a Reply

