London in one day

The very first time I went to London was in quit a hurry. Getting up at 4 am, on the bus and boat, to come home again at midnight. I had to be selective to get the most out of this day. So I decided to follow a part of The Thames Path.

p
Google Maps

My starting point was the Tower of London and the Tower Bridge. 

p.jpg
View on the Tower from the Tower Bridge. 

p.jpg

Close to the Tower you can eat some fish and chips as lunch.

p

The Thames brought me to my next stop: Saint-Paul’s Cathedral.

p

p

Next in line: The Big Ben and the London Eye.

p

My final stop was Buckingham Palace, after this it was time to return home.

p.jpg

Also read my post : London on a budget.

13 thoughts on “London in one day

  1. I’ve been to all of these places and only remember one thing. The changing of the guards. I kept telling my stepdad that they didn’t change and he just kept laughing – not at me really. I was only seven. I lived about 40 miles or so north of London in a place called Bishop’s Stortford. I was there just over a year and some of my fondest childhood memories are from that tiny little town.

    Thank you so much for sharing this! I got to revisit those memories. Great way to start my day. I would also love to know what your thoughts were and how these places made you feel!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I do wish I could go with you! Maybe someday we will be there at the same time! I will go again but my first love is Florence, Italy. I was there for almost 3 years. Those were without a doubt the best days of my life. Have you ever been there?

        Like

      2. It has been 32 years since my feet carried me to all of my favorite places! Piazza Signoria. Piazzale Michelangelo. The Ponte Vecchio. Piazza Santa Croce. Piazza Santo Spirito and last but far from least – Vivoli for the best gelato in the world!

        I felt more alive in Italy than anywhere else I have ever been. I even miss our apartment which had no central heat! Boy, did we freeze in the winter. The building was built in 1296 and the ceilings were 14 feet tall. It was originally a convent and during WWII it was turned into a hospital for unwed mothers.

        I could go on and on but I do believe you have inspired me to blog about it instead! Thank you.

        Like

Leave a Reply

