When in Rome

I’ve taken Latin for four years, and although it might seem extremely boring, I actually really loved it. I was intrigued by the Roman culture, liked to know more about how they lived, what life was like and to read the many mythological stories. For my 18th birthday, I chose to go on a holiday to Rome (and Umbria). I’ve been wanting to go to the eternal city for years… and it didn’t disappoint me!

As usual I spent my nights on a camping site, in this case near Rome. It was situated right next to a vulcan lake, named Lago Bracciano, a perfect refresher after a hot day! The camping was located +/- 10 minutes from a train station, from which it took a 40 min ride towards the center of Rome.

g.jpg
View on the lake from the camping site where I stayed.

– Day 1: Rome in a nutshell-

Although I’m usually not a fan, I took a ride on the typical ‘hop-on-hop-off’ buses. Rome is big, like this you get a bit an idea what you want to see.

In Rome there is one monument that you really see from everywhere in the city, it’s the Victor Emmanuel II monument. Some pictures of my first day:

g

g.jpg
Along the Tiber

g.jpg

g.jpg
Arch of Constantine

g.jpg

g.jpg
Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore

 

– Day 2: Vatican City-

I spent my second day in Vatican City, you can read about it here.

-Day 3:  Colosseum and Forum Romanum-

When you visit Rome, the Colosseum MUST be on your list. It’s better to get your ticket at the Forum Romanum. A ticket is valid for both the Forum and the Colosseum, but the lines are probably shorter at the Forum.

g.jpg

The Colosseum was used as an amphitheatre, built 2000 years ago by the Romans. It was sort of a gift to the citizens of Rome. The amphitheatre (which is an invention of the Romans) was built in 10 years. They held games in this theatre, the most famous ones are probably the gladiatorial games.

g.jpg

The Colosseum measures 188 metres on 156. As you can see in the picture bellow, the Romans even had a system to protect spectators against the sunlight! I also read that battles between ships were held in the theatre. They filled it with water, how amazing !

g.jpg

g.jpg

I was really impressed by the Colosseum. When walking around I imagined what it must have been like back in the day. 

Only a couple of meters further is the entrance of the Forum Romanum. This was originally a market place, where you can still find many ruins.

g.jpg

g.jpg

g.jpg

I took my time on this day to take everything in, to read about what I’m seeing, what it used to look like… This day was magnificent for me! 

 

– Day 3: Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain and Pantheon-

So the Spanish steps. I repeat SPANISH steps, are located in Rome, which is in Italy. However, they were built by the French… very logical 😉 

g.jpg

If you climb them you can relax in the park and you have a nice view over the city.

g.jpg

Next I made my way towards the Trevi Fountain. Very pretty, but I imagined it way bigger than it was.

g.jpg

From here I continued my walk towards the Piazza Navona. The square is very long, it reminded me of a movie I’ve seen, but I’m not sure which one.

g.jpg

The Pantheon is sort of a temple with in the middle of the roof a hole (oculus). Seeing the ceiling makes you remember that the Romans were good architects.

g.jpg

If you like, share your experience with Rome in the comments 🙂

11 thoughts on “When in Rome

  1. As I’ve said before, your trip posts are very interesting and helpful. I like the fact that you also talk about historical facts. Nice!
    P.S. I suggest you to create a more “sophisticated”, if I can say so, logo for your photos to be more imposing. Also, you should put it down on the photos on the same place and in a smaller size. I’m not criticizing 🙂 My brother is a photographer and I just grew up talking and hearing about all these things :)) I hope I was helpful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was always amazed by how small the Trevi fountain was… And that it was wedged between several buildings! The Pantheon is still my favourite monument in Rome, such a feat of engineering.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very well written and a good balance of fun and facts! I went to Rome in 2011 with 4 years of Italian and 2 years Latin under my belt. I didn’t get to speak them much disappointingly. But spending two days in Rome, I got to see the Spanish steps, colosseum, and the forum romana. I was with a group and a tour guide, so it was limiting, but they were quite spectacles nonetheless.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

