Backpacking 21 days in the USA

I just got back from my trip in the USA. It’s been really amazing, and went by way too fast. This was a dream coming true for me, I still can’t really believe that I went there. This is the first time I went outside of Europe so I was really excited, and I also never flew before. As I graduated college in July (yeeey), I thought this was the perfect time to fly across the Atlantic.

x
Created @ BeFunky

This is an overview of what I did during the three weeks, more detailed posts about the different destinations will follow in August and September.

 

-Total distance: 585 miles or 941 km-

-5 states visited: Massachusetts, Rhode Island, New York, District of Columbia and Virginia-

The USA is so big, it’s hard to pick where to go. The east coast was the closest, and since we were only with two girls,we decided to stick to the cities. After some research I discovered New England is probably the most historic part, as it dates back from the colonial time. So Boston became the starting point. From Boston I moved south, to end my trip in the capital, Washington DC. Ofcourse a trip to New York couldn’t miss from my itinerary.

 

– Start: Boston, MA-

From Brussels I flew to Boston in New England. I was about 11 hours on my way. Icelandair first flew me to Reykjavik, and from there onwards towards Boston. Iceland seems so beautiful! I really should go there one day.

I spent two days here, which for me personally, was more than enough. The Freedom Trail told me more about the historic meaning of the city, and I also went to the campus of Harvard University.

Read more: 48 hours in Boston 

x.jpg

– Biking in Cape Cod, MA-

My next stop was Cape Cod. I took the Capeflyer to Hyannis MA, this train only rides in the weekends. The train ride was very slow, so if you would ever travel to Cape Cod from Boston, I would say you take the bus, which is 1 hour faster. Cape Cod wasn’t easy to get around at first (I always counted on public transportation since you have to be 25 to rent a car). Best way to explore: bikes! Combining public transport and biking got me pretty much anywhere I wanted to go, and it was way easier to get my groceries. Cape Cod was very pretty and relaxing.

Read more: Cape Cod by bike

x.jpg

 

– Providence, RI-

The first week already passed, and I made my way to Providence. Didn’t expect much of it, but Providence was amazing. I would love to live here, it’s a bit alternative, artsy, kinda my thing. After two days in Rhode Island I moved on to New York City.

Read more: 48 hours in Providence

x.jpg

– New York City, NY-

I had high expectations and NYC didn’t disappoint at all. It’s such a wonderful vibrant city, full of different cultures. Staying in Staten Island gave me a magnificent view over Manhattan. I went to Liberty and Ellis Island, all the way to the top of the Empire State building, biked around in Central Park…. I was so tired, but there is so much to do in New York! I think I’ve covered the main things during my  5 days here, but I wouldn’t be bored if I went back, so much more to explore.

Read more: New York City: day 1New York City: day 2New York City: day 3New York City: day 4 and 5

x.jpg

-End: Washington DC-

The trip is going by faster than I could imagine, I already reached my last stop. I liked DC the most, of all the places I’ve been in the US. It was green, clean, and not so busy as NYC is. I loved it. From here I also took a trip to Virginia to visit Arlington cemetery and Mount Vernon.

Read more: Washington DC on a budget (part 1)Washington DC on a budget (part 2)A day trip to Mount Vernon, VA.

x

This was a trip I will remember for the rest of my life. A dream coming true… so time for the next one 😉

→ Next post: 48 hours in Boston 

45 thoughts on “Backpacking 21 days in the USA

  1. Congratulations on graduating and taking your first trip to the US! Sounds like an awesome trip and I can’t wait to read your posts about each city. Of course, I’m biased toward NYC, but I also did enjoy Washington DC when I visited a couple years ago. Your assessment is spot on! So calm, green and beautiful.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m glad you enjoyed the States. Been to New York and D.C. Twice each and absolutely love them. And I live in Virgina, so I hope you enjoyed it there.
    I have travelled by Iceland Air and loved learning a little of Iceland and agree it looks like a great place to visit.
    I look forward to reading the blogs that go more in depth about the trip!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have lived in the US my entire life, and other than to enter/exit an airport the only city that I have visited on your list is Washington, DC and yes, it is a great city. There is so much to see, the Metro makes getting around easy, and most things are free.

    Your feelings about the trip remind me of my 3 week vacation to Ecuador. It was the best vacation I have ever had and when I think about it, I want to do it again! It was a rustic vacation where we hiked to waterfalls, up and down mountains, stayed with the locals, and moved from place to place using “chicken” buses (because it is not unusual for people to bring their farm animals aboard), and riding in the back of pickup trucks.

    Glad you liked the US and I look forward to reading more of your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats on graduating, what did you study if you don’t mind me asking?
    And this trip looks so incredible, I haven’t been outside of Europe ever! It’s awesome to see that you were interested in looking at the historical sites of the USA, hope you enjoyed your trip 🙂
    Ani x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi, I do think this is a great site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m
    going to return once again since i have book-marked it.
    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you
    be rich and continue to help others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

