48 hours in Boston

Previous article: Backpacking 21 days in the USA

After a long flight I finally arrived in Boston. I was really tired of sitting all day, so I was really looking forward to a comfortable bed. Unfortunately I still had to go through customs control, which took me an hour. From the airport I took a free shuttle to Boston South Station (the silver line). The bus was kinda strange, it drove into narrow tunnels, like a subway. From Boston South it was only a 10 minute walk to the Club Quarters Hotel.

x

It was so hot in Boston, back in Belgium it was cold and rainy, so the difference was big. The hotel was really nice, comfortable beds, big rooms, not really the kind of hotel for people on a budget though.

– Day 1: the Freedom Trail-

The next morning I woke up at 6 am, feeling like I’ve slept till noon, I got up and felt really energetic. Since I’m not a morning person at all, this was really strange! Other than that, I didn’t feel anything of the time difference. After picking up my breakfast at Roche Bros, I made my way to Boston Common, the starting point (or ending) of the Freedom Trail.

x

The Freedom Trail walks you through the history of Boston. Boston was an important city during the fight for independence. Many americans and british died during the battles.

The first site on the trail is the Massachusetts State House, dating back from 1798. A visit to this building is free, so I took a peek inside.

x

I found the Memorial Hall the nicest.

x.jpg

 

xx

 

After my visit I made my way to the Granary Burying Ground, this historic cemetery has 2 300 markers.

x.jpg

x.jpg

Passing along many other historic buildings, such as  King’s Chapel, the path led me towards the Old State House. I found this one quit odd, hidden between many high modern buildings.

x.jpg

x

I took a break at the Faneuil Hall, to enjoy a beautiful violin concert. The atmosphere here was really nice. It was very cosy.

x.jpg

x.jpg

I had a nice Vietnamese meal at Bon Me, their ginger lemonade was really awesome! Some pictures of the second part of the trail:

x.jpg

x.jpg

The Freedom Trail was a perfect way to get to know Boston and its history. For more information: The Freedom Trail.

– Day 2: Cambridge-

I’ve always wanted to go to the famous campus of Harvard University. A small ride with the subway got me there.When I got there it was a bit confusing where I needed to go, how to explore the campus. I just walked around a bit, but I must say I was a bit disappointed. I expected it to be way bigger, and that I could actually visit the buildings, which wasn’t the case. Perhaps the fact that I’ve been to Oxford, UK before, influenced my opinion about Harvard a bit. Oxford was really impressive, I had a tour there and could visit many colleges. The Library building of Harvard was really nice.

x.jpg

x.jpg

I had planned to stay an entire day at the campus… since I expected it to be bigger, and that there would be a couple of buildings I could visit.

At noon I ate some tacos from Rhythm and Wraps food truck and went back to Boston. I chilled a bit at the Public Garden and Boston Common and saw the Trinity Church, which somehow reminds me more of a fairytale castle then a church. I ended my stay in Boston with a short walk in the Beacon Hill area.

x

x.jpg

 

I expected a bit more of Boston. It seems like a nice city to live and was very green, but if I want to go back there… probably not. The city definitely has a lot of history, which is interesting to explore through the Freedom Trail. My two days in Boston were alright, but for me this was enough of time here.

← Previous post: Backpacking 21 days in the USA

Next post: Cape Cod by bike→

 

11 thoughts on “48 hours in Boston

Leave a Reply

