Cape Cod by bike

Read moreBackpacking 21 days in the USA

← Previous article48 hours in Boston

In Boston I took the Capeflyer towards Hyannis MA. The train ride was 2,5 hours, but oh my it seemed like it lasted forever. I think going by bike would even have been faster. The train was really really slow. But anyways, I made it to Hyannis and took a free Uber ride (if you use the Capeflyer you get a free ride up to 22 dollars) towards Hunters Green Motel. I was too early for check-in so I could already enjoy the pool and hot tub. The Motel was lovely. Basic but of course the pool and hottub are a nice extra. The staff was really friendly, and the location was good.

x.jpg

At first it was a bit difficult to get around. I walked nearly 40 minutes to the nearest supermarket to get me some food. So after a bit of research, I figured out that a bike might come in handy. So the next day I took the bus back to Hyannis and rented a bike at Bike Zone. The bike rental wasn’t expensive if I compare with prices here.

Also this day, it took me a while to find my way, but that’s the adventure of travelling. In Belgium, pretty much everyone bikes. I’m used to bike friendly paths and roads. My first impressions with Cape Cod were; ‘Am I supposed to bike here?’ After a couple of miles and a helping hand, I found a road with a separate path for bikers. Much better!

x

I ended up riding the scenic route 6A, god it was beautiful! I enjoyed the scenery around me so much I didn’t take any pictures, well I took 1 to be exact. I took my lunch at Mattakeese Wharf.

The next day I planned to bike along the Old Colony road towards Dennis. I drove back along the coast. Some pictures of my second day:

x.jpg

x.jpg

x.jpg

x

My last day on the Cape was a hot one… too hot. I planned to do a tour on Martha’s Vineyard but it kinda turned into a mini ride and an afternoon af refreshment in the sea. From West Yarmouth I took the bus towards Falmouth, where I took the ferry to the Island. I chose to ride the Island Queen ferry, because it was way cheaper than the one in Hyannis (I saved more than half).

Martha’s Vineyard was very nice! I loved it here, hope I can go back some day. My ferry arrived in Oak Bluffs, a cosy little town. From here I followed the coast towards Edgartown. The sea on my left, salt lakes on my right… I can not describe how pretty it was.

x

 

x

x

x

My stay in Cape Cod was amazing, but a bit too short. It was very different from the city Boston. Lots of nature, beautiful beaches, cosy little towns. I noticed almost every house had american flags hanging out, which contributes to the unique atmosphere the Cape has. If you would ever go to the Cape, you should do it by bike, like this you can really take in the environment.

14 thoughts on “Cape Cod by bike

  1. I wish I was as brave as you – backpacking through a foreign country! What a way to celebrate graduating! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

