J’adore Bruxelles (part 2, the center)

← Previous article: Exploring Belgium:j’adore Bruxelles (part 1, the Palaces)

From the palaces I moved on towards the center of Brussels. I first passed along the Cathedral of St. Michael and St. Gudula.

x.jpgx

 

x.jpg

x.jpg

I had lunch close to the Royal Galleries.

x.jpg

x.jpg

The most famous street of Brussels is the Rue de Bouchers/Beenhouwersstraat. It’s a very narrow but cosy street filled with restaurants. If you walk through it they will try to sell you their menus, hard to resist, it all looks so good!

x.jpg

Before I got to see the Flower Carpet on the Grand-Place, I passed along the Munt and het Beursplein, which is one of my favourite spots in Brussels. Afterwards I also took a look in the Saint-Niklaas Church, the style of this church isn’t really my thing though.

x.jpg

x.jpg
Het Beursplein is a cosy spot where people get together, I really like the atmosphere here.

x

I’m probably biased because I’m from Belgium but, honestly, the Grand-Place is one of the most beautiful squares I’ve seen. Each medieval guild house is pretty, and the Town Hall is like the cherry on the pie. The Flower Carpet made it all even more enchanting.

x.jpg

x.jpg

x.jpg

x.jpg

x.jpg

The pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela can be started in Brussels. You find the typical shells on the ground, which guide you the way. Not sure where to put it, but did you know that Brussels used to be a swamp?

x.jpg

Before returning back home, I passed along het Ketje and remains of the medieval walls. Het Ketje, or Manneken Pis, is a peeing boy. Yes, a peeing boy, who is photographed a lot. Back in the day, pee was collected, because it was used to clean leather. This little guy got the symbol of Brussels. You might think it’s ridiculous, it maybe is. But Belgians are mostly people who can relativate, and mock ourselves a bit. No country is perfect, and we aren’t either. So I really like this fountain/statue. There is also a female version of it, Jeanneke Pis.

x.jpg

 

7 thoughts on “J’adore Bruxelles (part 2, the center)

Leave a Reply

