New York City: day 2

First read: Backpacking 21 days in the USA

← Previous post: New York City: day 1

I had a terrible night. Too short, and way too hot. But I was looking forward to my second day in the city. To avoid the heat, funny enough, this day became the museum day. I started my day at the MET. I was glad there was air conditioning but.. again… way too cold! I should have brought a sweater with me. The MET confronted me with the same issue as I had in the Louvre. Too big! I had to make choices, and I am terrible at that. Luckily the map pointed out some highlights of each section.

x.jpg
Created @ BeFunky

x.jpg

What interests me the most is… Roman and Greek art! This was my starting point. It was nice but  I mostly saw tons of statues. Walking around here makes you wonder what is left in Greece. (I’m just kidding) But it is always wondering my mind. I mean I like these kind of museums, and you have them in lots of places. But basically you are showing lots of objects from other countries.

x.jpg

x

The most impressive thing in this part of the museum was a gigantic column. I’ve never seen them so big!

x.jpg

Next I did a quick tour at the Arts of Africa, Oceania, and the Americas. I don’t know why, but I’m just not into this.

x

I moved on to the American Art, I was in America after all. This art wasn’t so familiar to me, so I was glad I got to know it a bit.

x.jpg

I really liked this statue of the panther. It’s like he wants to crawl off, the statue is sort of alive.

x.jpg

The most overwhelming ‘object’ in the museum was the Temple of Dendur. An entire temple…wow.

x.jpg

The Egyptian Art was very pretty. I spent lots of time at the first floor. It was getting late so I rushed trough the second floor. This one consisted mainly of European Art, which, I’ve seen plenty of already. So I think I more or less divided my time right 🙂

x.jpg

What I liked about the MET is basically the museum itself. The building is perfectly suited to display all these art objects. It is sober, with lots of lights. Unlike some museums I’ve been to, it doesn’t distract the visitor from the art. It makes sure the art can be fully appreciated.

This was a lot to take in, I spent hours in here. Time for a break! And what better place to find some rest in a busy city like NY than Central Park. It was even bigger than I thought it would be. The contrast is just amazing.

x.jpg

In the evening I went to the American Museum of Natural History. Apparently this is free after a certain hour. It was like I ended up in the movie Night at the Museum!

x.jpg

x

A very nice day, with lots to take in. After enjoying the beautiful skyline again, I went to bed. Getting ready for the next day, to visit Liberty and Ellis Island.

x.jpg

Next post: New York City: day 3

New York City: day 1New York City: day 3New York City: day 4 and 5

14 thoughts on “New York City: day 2

      1. I think from what I seen in your post we will be going to some of the museums in New York Next Time.
        We did do some of the museums when in Washington D.C. which were amazing. We did the Art Museum, The Air and Space Museum and the Natural History Museum which were all amazing!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve always wanted to go the Natural History Museum. I’ve got a thing for museums. I even watch documentaries about them. They are so fascinating! The pictures are really good!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

