New York City: day 4 and 5

First read: Backpacking 21 days in the USA

← Previous post: New York City: day 3

The next morning I started my day at the Empire State Building. It took forever to get up there! The waiting really took too long, but the views were magnificent. Like the World Trade Center, I saw a documentary about the Empire State Building on National Geographic, which was very interesting. I’m glad I didn’t help building it, me being afraid of heights would make me very unfit! Definitely if you see how they used to work.

 

x

x.jpg

Just like Trinity Church, Saint Patrick’s Cathedral is hidden between the modern buildings. I love the contrast. The Cathedral itself was nice. Not the most impressive I’ve seen. In my opinion it can’t beat the religious architecture of Europe. But it was sober, which I like. Not too much blah bla around it.

x.jpg

x.jpg

The rest of the day I enjoyed another contrast New York has to offer. Central Park is really beautiful, and so big! I biked and strolled around, had a nice picnic and enjoyed the green around me.

x

x.jpg

x.jpg

NYC seems to really come alive at night. I’m glad that I chose to stay late one night. I could feel the vibrant city even more. Times Square was busy, very busy. But the many lights distracted me from it. I really wish I could have seen one of the Broadway musicals, hopefully next time!

x.jpg

x.jpg

The ticket from my City Pass gave me a second entrance the second day. So I had to encourage myself to go back to that awful long line. Luckily it was a bit more quiet now.

x.jpg

My last day in NYC was a calm one. In the USA are lots of stores we don’t have in Belgium so I did some shopping. In the morning I took some walks I found in a Lonely planet guide. Lonely Planet walked me into the neighbourhoods Chinatown, Little Italy and Soho.

Chinatown, is not unique for New York, and I think it’s an odd concept. The Chinese or Asians seem to always create their own little community. I understand that people want to do that, and hold on to the country they come from. Yet I find it still surprising they form these Chinatowns all over the world.

x.jpg

x.jpg

On this square the older generation got together to play games. How cute! You really get onto the asian vibe when you walk around here (well I think so at least, never been there!)

Little Italy was less nice in my opinion. I didn’t really feel the atmosphere. Perhaps I walked the wrong streets or something but I didn’t feel it. Soho was cute, and there were some beautiful and unique stores up there.

x.jpg

New York City was very nice and exhausting. I only got to see the real touristic things and the museums I really wanted to go to. If I ever get to chance to go again I would like to explore a bit more outside of Manhattan, such as Williamsburg and Brooklyn. A tour with a local seems also very nice.

Are any of you from NYC, or did you live there? What is for you the real New York, your favourite spot, or a hidden gem? I’d like to know 🙂

New York City: day 1 – New York City: day 2– New York City: day 3

Next post: Washington DC on a budget (part 1)

16 thoughts on “New York City: day 4 and 5

  1. I loved seeing New York but unfortunately I can’t offer any non touristy things. I didn’t even see half the tourist stuff. I never seen Chinatown, little Italy or Soho and seen very little of Central Park but I would love to see them.
    I LOVE the view from the Empire State Building, possible my favorite view in the world!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Now that I think about it, Little Italy in different parts of the world really are not the best locations. I didn’t feel anything either with Little Italy in California and in Mykonos, Greece. I doubt it has something to do with the fact that I’ve also resided in Italy before; because I am Asian and I love Asian-towns.
    I have always wanted to go to New York. Maybe my perspectives have changed a bit, but it would be so nice to visit it for sure.
    I still like the look of the cathedral. You’re right- plain, but still majestic.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! I love how your photos are crisp and bright. It’s still on my list of things to do – taking a long weekend in NY and just walking around. Your post inspires me to do it sooner than later!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

