The René Magritte museum

This weekend I went to the Magritte museum (in Brussels), because I read online that the first Sunday of the month, there is a free entrance. Turned out it was the first Wednesday, oops. I’ve been looking forward to this visit. I love the work of Magritte.

x.jpg

I’m usually not that much into modern art, but I do like Magritte his work. And the fact that he is a Belgian painter makes me proud of course 🙂 In my art history classes we took the time to analyse a couple of his works.

The museum turned out differently than I expected. It was small, and I did not see all of his work I had in mind. Nevertheless I did get to see some nice paintings. The work of Magritte is absolutely amazing.

His work is sometimes very strange, most of his paintings come from the surrealistic period.

x.jpg

x.jpg

As you can see there are always certain elements that come back in his work. The sky with clouds, birds, fish, a ball, his hat, an apple… The one on top (right) is called ‘Black magic’.

The following painting is called ‘the traveller’:

x.jpg

x.jpg

On top left is the painting ‘ The Domain of Arnheim’. Magritte based this painting on a poem from E. A.Poe.

x

My favourite was the following one:

x.jpg

Is it day or night here? Seems to be like it is both. I like the confusion in this painting, yet when you first look at it, everything seems to be normal.

René describes his work like this: “My painting is visible images which conceal nothing; they evoke mystery and, indeed, when one sees one of my pictures, one asks oneself this simple question, ‘What does that mean?’ It does not mean anything, because mystery means nothing, it is unknowable.”

When walking through the museum I did ask myself a lot ‘what does this mean’? Like I said before his work is quite strange. I guess he leaves the interpretation and mystery to the spectators.

What do you think of Magritte his work? Is it something you can appreciate?

More information can be found on this website: http://www.renemagritte.org/

Also visit : https://www.artsy.net/artist/rene-magritte with more info on Magritte and his artwork.

If you’re under 25 the museum will only cost you 2 euros! The regular price is 8 euros.

11 thoughts on “The René Magritte museum

  1. Beautiful masterpieces. I guess for very interesting works that he’s done, the museum size or presentation don’t matter. Notice he always have that white ball or egg? It’s art I’d enjoy perusing. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

