Washington DC on a budget (part 1)

I spent the last days of my trip to the USA in the capital. DC surprised me, and although NYC was very impressive, I think I liked this city the most. My overall impression was that it was clean, green and well organised. Same as in NYC, prices are very high here.

x.jpg

A hostel is always a good option if you’re on a budget. And an easy way to get to know people, even for someone as shy as me. My hostel was very good! Great location, friendly people and a kitchen so you can cook your own food. They even offer daily free tours. I also found out that most attractions and museums are free in DC, so this is perfect for anyone on a budget. I got myself a Metrocard to get around.

– Day 1-

x.jpg

The Capitol (free) was my starting point. Since I couldn’t bring my food or drinks inside, I decided to postpone my visit till my last day.  The Capitol is a very nice building. I couldn’t help but notice how white it was. Buildings often get damaged by the weather etc., but here it was perfectly white.

x.jpg

Walking along the Capitol reflecting pool, I made my way along the Mall. My time in DC was limited so I didn’t spend a lot of time in the museums. First up was the National Gallery of Art (free). 

x.jpg

From what I saw during my short visit, the museum mostly displays European paintings. I was very happy to see that there was a separate section of Flemish works, usually museums call them Dutch. I wish I had more time to explore here, but it was still a nice visit.

x.jpg

x

The airco of the museums was a nice refreshment, it was very hot in DC! Next I took a look inside the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History (free). You can take the look quite literally. I only spent 10 minutes or so in here. I definitely know what to do if I ever visit DC again!

x.jpg

After my lunch break, which was more an afternoon break, I went to see the White House. 

x.jpg

Security was quite high here, which is understandable, so I didn’t really get to see a lot of it. But anyhow, it’s like this typical building that you must have seen if you’re there, in my opinion.

x.jpg

Close to the White House is the Washington Monument. It kinda looked like you see this monument from anywhere you walk.

x.jpg

Before heading back to the hostel, after yet another busy day, I still wanted to have seen the Declaration of Independence. So the final stop was: the National Archives (free).

x.jpg

This is a post in the series: Backpacking 21 days in the USA

← Previous post: New York City: day 4 and 5

Next post: Washington DC on a budget (part 2)

21 thoughts on “Washington DC on a budget (part 1)

  1. I was last in D.C. when I was 13 years old on a school trip where they took us around to all the government buildings and monuments, etc. Fun place, nice city! Considering that I’m 32, almost 33 now, I should probably schedule a time to go back as the previous highlight of my trip was sliding around in my socks with my friends at the Lincoln Memorial on the marble floor until we got yelled at by a security guard. Might be time to have some more “adult” memories of the place 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice photos! I enjoyed reading your take on D.C., and I’ll try not to feel wounded that you like it better than NYC 😉
    I’m glad you had a good experience in the hostel. I know it’s the best way to save money, but I’ve always been scared to try. I’m a little shy too and I like my personal space lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

