Quote challenge day 3

My third (and already the last) quote is: “Maybe the truth is, there’s a little bit of loser in all of us. Being happy isn’t having everything in your life be perfect. Maybe it’s about stringing together all the little things.” Ann Brashares, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

x
(Source)

The sisterhood of the Traveling Pants is a book I really enjoyed reading when I was younger. I think people are always in search of ‘happiness’. But what is happines really? Isn’t it something society tells us, like having a nice (and big) house, driving a nice car, having a great job etc.

I’ve seen an interesting documentary (in Dutch) where a couple of philosophers debate on different subjects every week. One week the subject was happiness. Nowadays they are lots of books about finding happiness, how to be happy… A lot of them came to the conclusion that the search of happines actually makes people unhappy. Quite controversial.

So as the quote says, I think happiness is to be found in the little things. Sometimes you will be unhappy. If there was no such thing as being unhappy, there is also no such thing as being happy. Because then everything feels the same, if you get what I mean? Being unhappy makes you feel your moments of joy. And I feel like I’m starting to go too far with this so I’m going to end here 😛

It’s been real fun to do this challenge, so thanks again Comics and the Cross for nominating me 🙂

If you missed the first two: Quote Challenge Day 1 and Quote challenge day 2

Also, I’d like to connect with you guys on social media. So if you want, give your twitter/Facebook/ bloglovin links in the comments and I will like / follow.

My social media: FacebookTwitter and Bloglovin,     Thanks 🙂

4 thoughts on “Quote challenge day 3

  1. Really awesome Quote to finish off the challenge.
    Honestly, I couldn’t agree more. It isn’t an overarching finish line we are heading towards where we will always be happy. It is all the little moments strung together that make a happy life. And you can’t really experience the highest happiness without the lows in life too.
    And I completely agree with your Philosophers, that the pursuit of happiness ruins so many peoples lives, seeking specific things believing it will lead them to happiness.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

