Côte d’azur in pictures

La douce France, a country I’ve been to many times, and it never disappoints. I’ve always loved the south. The atmosphere I adore mostly. The cities and towns somehow have a different character than the ones in the north.In April 2014 I spent the Easter holiday at the Côte d’Azur. A couple of benefits travelling here outside of summer : the temperatures are pleasant and even more important, the traffic is busy, but way less as it could be.

Where did I stay? I rented an apartment in Villeneuve-Loubet. From here I travelled anywhere with the car. Bus, train and bike are also a good option.

My photo-diary:

 

x.jpg
The beach of Villeneuve-Loubet, with the Alps in the background. I liked the controversy of the warm beaches versus the snowy tops in the background.
x.jpg
In April you can still find some rest here, I’ve heard in summer the beaches are full of people. 
x.jpg
I saw a lot of bikers during my stay, there is a nice path along the coast. 
x.jpg
The harbor of Villeneuve-Loubet, isn’t the colour of the water just stunning? 
x.jpg
The second day I went to Nice, we climbed Mont Boron to get this amazing view! 

xA closer look at the city of Nice and the famous Promenade des Anglais.

x.jpg
At the other side of Mont Boron, you get this view, on  little harbor. 

x.jpg

x.jpg
In Nice I saw many colourful and elegant buildings, cosy squares and parks. I liked Nice, it was simple yet the beautiful ocean, the green, the warmth and colourful houses gave it some sparkle.
x.jpg
My third day was less bright, and I must say the weather had an influence on the environment aswell. I somehow liked this town the least, probably because of the weather. (I went to Antibes.)     
x.jpg
A drive up the mountains gives you more amazing views, and a different side of this part in France. 
x
As I got closer the medieval town Vence started to appear, beautifully located on a hill. 
x.jpg
Here I was already a bit closer to the Alps and the snow (yet still far away). 
x.jpg
For me the best part of France is still its cosy little towns. The beautiful narrow streets where you just can get lost, and of course their markets. (I’m slightly addicted to cheese). 

x.jpg

x.jpg

To be continued…

(April 2014)

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Côte d’azur in pictures

  1. I love the photos! The Côte d’Azur is so beautiful, and I hope to make it there soon. I was supposed to go to Nice last year, but our plans changed at the last minute. When I do get to visit, I’d love to rent a car and stop by all the little towns along the coast.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I lived in south-west France for two months this summer, but never made it to the south-east. But I absolutely love your photo diary!!! There are so many ways to go about this but I love the way that you did!!!! These photos are beautiful. I want to climb the mountain/cliff/look out area one day and see that!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

