College trip to Paris

I just got back from Paris! I wanted to have posted my previous stays in this city before talking about the current one. So here it goes. My second time in Paris was  business trip with college. (first time: Memories: school trip to Paris (2009)) Meaning.. I didn’t get to see that much of the city 😦 However we went around Christmas time, so I did get to see Paris with even more lights!

(december 2014)

Day 1

The first day we left early (read very very early) in the morning. Two things I dislike: getting up early and buses. These things got joined together, wonderful! Anyways the bus got us (after nearly 6 hours) finally to Paris. I was relieved I survived the horrible bus ride (I got sick) and after some ‘fresh’ air, I ate my lunch and we checked in (our hotel was in the modern area La défense). I wouldn’t really recommend the hotel. It is meant for business, so not very cosy, and quite expensive for what it is.

x
Christmas Market in La Défense with a view on the Arc de Triomphe.

x.jpg

During my limited free time I took a look around. There was a cosy christmas market, and I also saw la Grande Arche again. We took the subway towards our first scheduled visit, which was UNESCO. Known for its World heritage Sites. We got a tour, which was of course focused on what UNESCO does etc. I got to see a concert, and some sculptures in and around the building. The weather kind of sucked, and by the time it got dark, it started raining a lot!

x.jpg

x.jpg
The Eiffel Tower hiding under the clouds.

In the evening we got on the boat near the Eiffel Tower. Not really recommended in the rain.

x.jpg
Rainy impressions on Paris by night

x.jpg

Day 2

The following day, we made our way towards the Arc de Triomphe, because nearby is the Belgian Embassy. Here we got a lecture, since there isn’t that much to see in an Embassy.

x.jpg

x.jpg
The Arc de Triomphe is quite impressive, too bad there is so much busy traffic around it.

Next up was the only cultural visit we did (hooray), and I was glad they picked the Opéra Garnier, which I hadn’t seen before. Absolutely beautiful! I was amazed by the beautiful architecture, which was very rich and overwhelming.

x.jpg

x.jpg

x.jpg
The contrast between the Opera itself, is this rather modern ceiling is just lovely.

From here I went on to the Galleries Lafayette, they are beautifully decorated during this time of the year. Unfortunately the prices are not for me lol.

x.jpg

Next up, a brief visit to the prettiest part in Paris (from what I found of the previous trip) Ile de la cité.

x.jpg

x.jpg

x.jpg
Notre Dame is so pretty… all the extra lights and Christmas trees gave the city an extra cosy vibe.  

I had my lunch close to the Centre Pompidou, as you may or may not know, modern art is usually not my cup of tea, and neither is the architecture of the building.

x.jpg

Then (and I know realise we really did a lot on this day, we wanted to see as much of the city as we could), we took the subway towards the Louvre (didn’t visit).

x.jpg

x.jpg

The evening activity was a surprise…and a good one! We went ice-skating in Grand Palais!!! Great experience!

x.jpg

x.jpg
Grand Palais 

My pictures inside and at night aren’t very good, but I do it with the ones I have 😛 Afterwards we strolled around in Paris, it’s the city of lights for a reason.

x.jpg

Day 3

The third day started off really nice. We got divided into groups and discovered Paris with a local. My group met up with a lady from the area around Roland Garros. We got to see botanical gardens and some architectural hidden pearls that I don’t have pictures off (oops). In the afternoon we visited the OECD.

Day 4

Before noon a visit to Roland Garros was scheduled. Visiting anything related to sports isn’t really my main point of interest.

x.jpg

In the afternoon we hurried towards le Sénat, to get to know more about how it works in France.

x.jpg

 

Day 5

Before noon I visited Musée d’Orsay very very briefly, before heading back to Belgium. This trip as a whole wasn’t really that great, but I just want to put all my travel related experiences on here. I didn’t get to see alot of the city, I don’t like to rush trough it. And the wheater wasn’t that great (very cold). So this post is more to point out I was in Paris a second time 😛 I hope I can share some of my new/fresh experiences on Paris with you this week. I had a great time, and got to see the city at my own pace.

9 thoughts on “College trip to Paris

  1. Pingback: Autumn in Paris

Leave a Reply

