36 hours in Prague

When I was younger, I’m guessing between 10 and 13, I went about 4 times to the Czech Republic with my parents. Mostly in winter, to go skiing. Skiing isn’t the same there as in France or Austria (less high mountains). It’s good for starters, and (definitely back then) super cheap. I remember the hospitality of Monica. She rented a couple of rooms in her house in this tiny little town up north. 

This town was called Svoboda nad Úpou.  I loved our winter holidays here. The schnitzel or hot choco I could eat/drink after a long cold day in a restaurant full with heads  of deer is a memory that will always stick. But also the warm and nice people that I couldn’t understand, but tried to communicate with anyways. We also traveled one summer here, to do walks in the mountains. Then we moved on to Bohemia and we visited Prague. Our last week we went to Cesky Krumlov.

All of this to say, I’ve been to Prague before, and I have good memories about it. But these memories were from 10 years earlier, so I’m glad that last year I went back.

Day 1:

 

 

My good memories of the Czech Republic already got confirmed by the first view I had over the city. I started near the Strahov Monastry and slowly made my way down towards the Prague Castle. What a view!

x.jpg

x.jpg
the Loreto 
x.jpg
what drew my attention was this blue bus, this lantern pole, isn’t it fascinating? 

At noon I watched the changing of the guards, and continued the path downwards.

x

x.jpg

x.jpg

x.jpg

Day 2:

The second day, I started by (a bit oddly) taking a look inside the train station. It has a beautiful architecture in the style of Art Nouveau. Then I moved on to the Wenceslas Square. The square is dominated by a huge building.

x.jpg

Walking across the square made me notice two things. First up:

x.jpg

These two students set themselves on fire, I’m guessing at this location, as a protest against the regime of the Sovjet Union.

Second thing I noticed:

x

I found the architecture very pretty, I’m guessing it’s also in the style of Art Nouveau.

I walked further trough a gallery that was build during the communist regime in the city. I don’t recall exactly how I moved on from here, but I passed along the main shopping street, which had beautifully decorated buildings, the university, to finally end up at the old town square .

x.jpg
a tall and odd little church, that never got finished 
x.jpg
the details of the buildings in the shopping street   

x.jpg

x.jpg

I ate my lunch on the boat. Ok, it’s super touristy, but the food was great, and the views even better!

x.jpg
let’s be honest, the Charles Bridge is a true beauty 

In the afternoon I explored the Jewish Quarter and strolled around in the many beautiful streets.

x.jpg

Day 3:

The last day I went back to the castle to see it’s interior and explore it more profoundly. Inside could be found one treasure after another. I think it’s safe to say this is probably my favorite spot in Prague.

x.jpg

x.jpg

x.jpg

This visit took me several hours, there are so many things to see here, the palace, several churches…

x.jpg

Little passages and gardens brought me down to the Senat.

x.jpg

I had a wonderful stay in Prague. During these three days I also visited a couple of baroque churches. I do like their exterior but am not a fan of their interior. I think it’s a bit too much, there has to be a certain  soberness, too much tends to get fake for me. But except for the baroque churches Prague is an intriguing and gorgeous city!

I made this trip in September 2015, hope your enjoyed! Have you visited Prague? Did you like it?

You might also like:

Berlin on a budget

Paris on a budget

prague (2).png

 

35 thoughts on “36 hours in Prague

  1. You have an amazing eye for capturing shots and scenes and an equally amazing skill of presenting, very few have that. Making others see by your eyes, it is a great experience.

    Keep exploring…
    Try to become a photo journalist, you will do wonders.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. No, I’ve never been to Prague or anywhere in Europe except England. Prague is very beautiful and I love the medievalness (if that’s a word!) about it. Lovely photos and blog, as usual. Thank you for sharing your travel adventures.

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Wow, the castle is stunning ! The exterior design is totally gorgeous, I wonder how long it takes to build it. I really like your writing, I usually like the detailed writing, but eventhough yours was not written in details, I can enjoy it every bit ❤
    I hope I can visit Prague, my friends once visited there and really recommended me to go there. Great post !

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

