Almeria in pictures

As I told you, three weeks ago I went to the beautiful Andalusia in Spain! (read about it here) My first stop was in Almeria! I only stayed here for a brief two days, nevertheless I’ve gotten an impression and I really liked it here. It wasn’t that easy to find the hostel though, but eventually we did, luckily. Andalusia seems to be an ideal holiday for anyone on a budget, I stayed in the hostel for only 15 euros a night, breakfast included! Dinner was about 7 to 10 euros drinks included, so really not expensive. Of course I was travelling of season, which might have had something to do with it.

x.jpg

Although temperatures are probably crazy in summer, you can still walk along these green and cosy boulevards. These trees are so pretty!

x.jpg

x.jpg

x.jpg
The cathedral doesn’t look very christian like, it used to be a Muslim fortress. The result is quite nice though. And I just love palm trees. They immediately give me the ‘you are somewhere exotic and warm’ kind of feeling.Β 
x.jpg
The Alcazaba, a Moorish castle, is definitely the eye-catcher! And even better, the entrance is free, although be aware Β it is closed in Mondays (which I didn’t know or did not think about 😦 )Β 

x.jpg

x.jpg

Close to Almeria is the natural park Cabo de Gata which is worth a visit! The coastlines are beautifully shaped due to its prior volcanic activity! The challenge is to find the hiking paths.

x.jpg

x.jpg
the color of the water is just stunning!Β 

x.jpg

x.jpg

When moving towards Granada, we made a quick stop along the road to walk around a bit in Tabernas. This is the only dessert in Europe, lots of westerns were filmed here, and when you zoom in with your camera you can actually see a bit of the film locations.

x.jpg
far away you can see the snowy tops of the Sierra Nevada!Β 

x.jpg

x.jpg
To be continued…

49 thoughts on “Almeria in pictures

  1. Your photos brought back memories of the time I spent in Almeria a couple of summers ago. In summer, it was like an oven! The natural park looks beautiful too, I didn’t get the chance to visit it when I was there.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. So beautiful and cheap also bonus. Wow you got breakfast 🍳 as well. The pictures are amazing and another place in my list of places to go. Looking forward to more posts on your time there xx Bree the youngest sister

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

