Impressions of Jaén and Cordoba

After visiting Almeria and Granada I had one day to explore the region of Jaén and another to visit Cordoba. This might seem like a very short time, nevertheless I’ve managed to get a good impression of both, without having to run from one place to another. Also this time I decided to stay in a hostel. This one was really great! Very good value for little money. The only issue we had on the first day of my arrival was to find dinner. Apparently it was a local holiday so pretty much anything nearby was closed. For the two evenings (I stayed here to explore Granada as well) we ate at Bomborombillos. This place is so great! Our waiter was very friendly and advised us some good tapas and products from the area. We had fantastic and local food for a great price, definitely a recommendation! 

x.JPG

In the area of Jaén we drove to two Renaissance cities. Ubéda and Baéza. They are both super cute and much less busy than the bigger cities in Andalusia. When you drive from Granada to Jaén you can see the landscape change. Olive trees surround you and determine the landscape. It isn’t too surprising that this area is one of the biggest exporters of olive oil in Europe. In Ubeda I visited a small olive oil museum. Basically there was a lot of commercial talk to support the products of the area (logical), but you got to see how it was made, what the different types and applications are etc.

x.JPG

x.JPG

After the educational part of the day, I continued with a small walk in the city center, to spot its beautiful architecture.

Capilla del Salvador #andalucía

A post shared by Emma (@curlygirlabroad) on

(I just discovered you can add your instagram pics on here, so cool! I thought it was only for the ones that can install plugins)

x.JPG

Next up was Baéza. Also here the town is very cosy and has lots of beautiful historic buildings to offer. I ended my day by strolling around in the city center of Jaén, passing along its beautiful cathedral.

Plaza del Populo #andalucía

A post shared by Emma (@curlygirlabroad) on

Evening in Jaen #andalucía #roadtrip

A post shared by Emma (@curlygirlabroad) on

In Cordoba my hostel couldn’t have been located better! Within five minutes by foot I was at the Mezquita. Cordoba is absolutely lovely, finally a city in Andalusia where there weren’t that many cars in the city center. I started with visiting the Mezquita. Initially this was a church, dating back from the Roman times. Then the Muslims came and built a huge mosque (really huge). And finally the Christians said nope, we make it a cathedral. And so now you find a mix of both. Luckily the Muslim parts are still overall present.

Mezquita #roadtrip #andalucia

A post shared by Emma (@curlygirlabroad) on

 

x.JPG

Then I walked around in the city itself, a couple of pictures to give you an idea:

x.JPG

x.JPG

x.JPG

x.JPG

I personally think that one day was enough to see Cordoba. The city is not that big.

Have you ever been to Cordoba? What is your favorite place in Andalusia? Let me know 🙂

11 thoughts on “Impressions of Jaén and Cordoba

  1. Cordoba.
    Distant and alone.
    A black nag, the giant moon,
    and olives in my saddlebag.
    Even if I know the way,
    I never will reach Cordoba…
    (Garcia Lorca)
    Charming place, I ve been there several time. My favourite place in Andalucia? Monte Luna, From there in one sight you can see both Malaga and Cadiz, the end of Europe the Mountain of Morocco and the sea opening to the Ocean : ) Nice post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

