1st Anniversary of Curlygirlabroad

Curlygirlabroad has turned 1! Last year, on the 6th of May, I published my very first post (this one ) ! I honestly thought I wouldn’t keep up with it for a long time, but here I still am. So I am using this ‘special’ moment to thank all of you readers/followers! I’m so glad I discovered the world of blogging. I really enjoy writing on here, it clears my mind. It’s also a bit like you get to virtually know people, follow their thoughts, sharing some comments etc. Glad I got to know some of you!

I treated myself as well by making some cupcakes, of which you can find the recipes bellow. I suggest you make some yourself 😉

Coconut/lime cupcakes: (I found this recipe here)

  • 165 g butter
  • 165 g sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 165 g self-rising flour
  • 50 g coconut powder
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 2 spoons of milk

Basically just put this all together and mix. Put it in a pre-heated oven (180 degrees Celsius) for about 25 minutes, et voilà! The cupcakes taste really fresh and due to the coconut they get a crispy bite.

Treating myself with some cupcakes #baking #cupcakes

Een bericht gedeeld door Emma (@curlygirlabroad) op

Almond cupcakes: (which I found here)

  • 125g sugar
  • 125g almond powder
  • 125g butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 25gr flour
  • Apricot jam
  • 60g icing sugar
  • Almonds (slices)
  • 1 spoon of water

 

IMG_20170507_153536.jpg

 

Mix the butter with one egg. Add the sugar and almond powder, and after that the second egg. Lastly, add the flour. Put in the oven for 20 minutes (180 degrees Celsius). You can cut the cupcakes in two to spread some apricot jam in between. Mix the icing sugar with the water to decorate with the almonds slices. Enjoy 🙂

42 thoughts on “1st Anniversary of Curlygirlabroad

    1. Thank you, I would say just try whatever feels right, it takes time and I still change my mind a lot about what or how I should write. Its your piece of internet so write whatever you feel like

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks Emma. That makes a lot of sense. I need to remember that I am writing to document my journey. That journey is primarily the path to living abroad but it is also learning about who I am and about developing my creativity. I am an analyst by profession and personality. I like things to have order and reason, but writing, for me, is a way of pushing back against that and enjoying free-spirited disorder. Anyway, I haven’t written creatively like this for 30 years, so, like my journey, it’s a work in progress… and I am content with that. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

