Gooseberry cake with a touch of orange

It’s that time of year when your garden transforms into a fruit and veggie supermarket. Since we have too much fruit in our garden to eat it all, we try and make as much jam and recipes as we can. Last weekend I found a recipe for a cake with gooseberries. I really liked the taste of it, it was combined with orange, which turns out to be a great combination. The recipe comes from BBC Good Food and can be found here.

Ingredients:

  • 225 g butter
  • 225 g caster sugar
  • 225 g self-raising flour
  • 4 eggs
  • zest and juice of one orange
  • 225 g gooseberries
  • 140 g of granulated sugar

To be honest I really don’t get the difference between caster and granulated sugar, so I just used plain white sugar and it worked out great.

First you have to heat the oven at 180 degrees Celsius.  Then you just mix the butter, caster sugar, orange zest, flour and eggs. At the end you add the gooseberries. Then bake for about 35 min. Then I heated the orange juice with the granulated sugar and added that on top of the hot cake. The cake was very nice, a bit sweet though. Next time I’ll consider adding less sugar on top.

Have you got some recipes with gooseberries? Let me know!

23 thoughts on “Gooseberry cake with a touch of orange

  1. I’ve always used granulated sugar for baking, simply because I’ve never noticed a difference between the two. I love gooseberries in a crumble or a pie, but have never tried them in a cake! Something new to try 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

